Updated: November 2026 · Openings checked Nov 2, 2026

Quick answer: Remote customer support jobs pay you to help customers from home by phone, chat, email, or support tickets. Most November 2026 postings we checked pay $14 to $26 an hour, close to the BLS median of $21.53 for customer service reps. Expect to need 6 to 12 months of customer service experience, a hardwired internet connection, and a quiet room. Many employers also only hire in certain states.

If you're good with people and want to work from home, customer support is one of the most realistic ways in. The skills transfer from retail and food service, and some roles are all phone, some all writing, and most a mix.

The problem is finding the real openings. Search "remote customer support jobs" right now and you'll mostly get job feeds for the wrong city or the wrong country, plus a few old guides with no live listings. So we did the legwork. We opened every posting below, copied the pay exactly as listed, and labeled each one by channel (phone, chat, email, tickets) and industry. If a posting doesn't say something, we tell you that instead of guessing.

Remote customer support jobs hiring now (updated November 2026)

Every role below was checked on Nov 2, 2026. Pay is copied straight from the posting. Jobs open and close fast, so click through and confirm before you apply.

We list ShyftOff first. It's a flexible-shift contact center platform, and SidePaychecks works with ShyftOff. Both of its current Indeed posts are below, and neither is chat-only. The Financial Services role is inbound phone, and the Associate post doesn't name a channel. We're listing them first because the pay is posted and the fees are disclosed up front. Please read the fee note before you apply.

Openings table

Company — role Channel Industry Pay (as posted) Key details Link
ShyftOff — Remote Customer Service Associate Not stated on posting Healthcare (breach-notification campaign) $14–$20/hr Contract; flexible schedule; 6+ months remote customer service required Indeed
ShyftOff — Customer Service Agent, Financial Services Phone only (inbound card and account calls) Financial services $15–$17/hr + incentives + $300 certification bonus 1099 contractor; choose your hours; $199 required screening cost (background, fingerprints, drug screen, YubiKey, processing); about 8-week screening path Indeed
TTEC — Customer Service Representative, Insurance Services Phone-led (incoming calls and communications) Insurance From $17.50/hr + performance bonus 6+ months experience; hardwired internet over 25 Mbps; not hiring in AK, CA, HI, IL, MT TTEC careers
VXI — Patient Care Advocate Not stated on posting Healthcare (prescription programs) $16.50/hr Equipment provided; 10 Mbps down / 5 Mbps up; healthcare, insurance, or CS experience VXI careers
HCSC / Luminare Health — Customer Service Representative Blended: phone + written and electronic inquiries Healthcare (benefits and claims) $20–$22/hr + annual bonus eligibility 1+ year CS experience; 4–6 weeks paid training; rotating weekends; Ethernet required; not open in AK, CA, HI, NY HCSC careers
Concentrix — Customer Service Rep, Financial Mostly phone (inbound, headset) Financial services $15–$17/hr 6+ months CS experience; wired internet; listed as valid to Nov 19, 2026 Concentrix careers
Transcom — Customer Service Advisor (skincare) Blended: inbound calls + written requests Retail / e-commerce $17.50/hr start + incentives W-2; 32–40 hrs; 25 wpm; private room; equipment provided; 26 eligible states Transcom careers
Cyrusher — Part-Time Customer Support (USA) Blended: live chat + outbound calls Retail / e-commerce (e-bikes) $18/hr, paid weekly Mon–Sat, 1–6pm local; US work authorization; apply by email Cyrusher careers
Solace — Customer Experience Representative Blended: phone, email, chat Health tech $21–$26/hr 9am–6pm PT shift; US-based Ashby posting
AIA Contract Documents — Customer Support Specialist Blended: phone, email, chat Tech / SaaS $25/hr + bonus Full-time; 1+ year frontline SaaS support Ashby posting
Cluely — Customer Support Specialist (part-time) Written only: support tickets (Intercom) Tech / SaaS $25/hr 10am–2pm ET weekdays and/or weekends; long-running posting, so confirm it's still open Ashby posting
NoGigiddy — Chat & Community Support Specialist Written only: chat + community posts Tech / online community $15–$21/hr No degree; paid training; multiple chats at once Workable posting

By channel: 5 blended, 3 phone-led, 2 written-only, 2 not stated. Very few roles are one channel only, so search each posting for "phone," "headset," "chat," and "email" before you apply.

How we check openings

We open each posting on the employer's own careers site or hiring system (Workday, Ashby, Workable) or on the employer's own Indeed listing. We copy the pay and requirements word for word, and we drop any role we can't confirm is still live. A few roles from our first pass closed or couldn't be confirmed on the employer's site, so they aren't here. We re-check this page every month.

Have 3+ years of customer service experience and want to pick your own hours? See how ShyftOff's 30-minute shifts work.

Find a job by how you like to work

Channel matters more than job title. Two roles with the same title can feel completely different day to day.

Phone support

Man wearing a headset taking a customer call at a home desk with a laptop and second monitor.

Phone roles are still the biggest share of remote customer support jobs, and they often hire the fastest. You'll take inbound calls, look up accounts, and document everything as you go. TTEC, Concentrix, and ShyftOff's Financial Services program are phone-led. If you like solving things in real time, phone work is usually the quickest way in.

Chat support

Chat agents type instead of talk, usually juggling two to four conversations at once. It suits people who write clearly and like a few seconds to think before they answer. Truly chat-only roles exist, but they're rarer than job boards make them look. Our full guide to remote chat support jobs covers who's hiring, typing speeds, and how to spot fake chat listings.

Email and tickets

Ticket roles are the calmest channel. You work through a queue in a help desk tool like Intercom or Zendesk, and each reply can take a few minutes. Cluely's part-time role is a good example: the goal is "inbox zero" by the end of each shift, plus processing refunds and flagging bugs for engineers. These roles reward careful writing more than speed.

Blended roles

Most openings we found are blended. You might take calls in the morning and work chats or emails in the afternoon. HCSC, Solace, AIA Contract Documents, Transcom, and Cyrusher all mix channels. They suit people who like variety.

Find a job by industry

Industry shapes the pay, the training, and the screening.

  • Healthcare: Member services, benefits, claims, and patient programs. ShyftOff's Associate role, VXI, and HCSC/Luminare are all healthcare. Expect privacy training (HIPAA) and, sometimes, longer paid training. Our healthcare deep-dive is coming soon: remote healthcare customer service jobs.
  • Financial services: Card, account, and fraud questions. ShyftOff's Financial Services program and Concentrix fall here. These roles often come with heavier screening, like background checks and fingerprints. More in our upcoming guide to remote financial services customer service jobs.
  • Insurance: Policy, coverage, and billing questions. TTEC's insurance role is unlicensed, but some insurance roles require you to get licensed within your first year. We cover licensed vs unlicensed roles in remote insurance customer service jobs.
  • Retail and e-commerce: Orders, returns, and product questions, like Transcom's skincare account and Cyrusher's e-bike support. Usually the most beginner-friendly industry, and busy around the holidays.
  • Tech and SaaS: Software and app support, like AIA Contract Documents and Cluely. These roles tend to pay toward the top of the range and lean on written support and troubleshooting.

What remote customer support jobs pay

Posted pay vs the BLS benchmark

Across the openings above, posted pay runs from $14 to $26 an hour. Most roles land between $15 and $22. For comparison, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a median of $21.53 an hour ($44,770 a year) for customer service representatives in May 2025. The lowest 10% earned under $15.27, and the highest 10% earned over $30.57.

A few patterns stood out:

  • Industry matters. Tech, SaaS, and health tech roles (Solace, AIA, Cluely) posted $21–$26. Large outsourcing companies (TTEC, Concentrix, VXI, Transcom) mostly posted $15–$17.50.
  • Bonuses are extra, not base pay. TTEC lists performance bonuses, HCSC an annual bonus, and ShyftOff's Financial Services program a $300 certification bonus. Budget on the base rate.
  • Paid training counts. HCSC pays for its 4–6 week training. Don't assume every role does.

Hourly vs per-minute pay

Always check how a role pays, not just how much:

  • Hourly pays for the time you're logged in. Every role in our table posts an hourly rate.
  • Per-minute pay shows up on some contractor platforms and covers only time spent actually helping customers. Working Solutions, for example, describes $0.25–$0.31 per productive minute. Quiet time between contacts may be unpaid, so your real hourly rate can be lower than it looks.
  • Upfront costs reduce what you take home. Subtract any screening or certification fees, like ShyftOff's $199 financial screening, before you compare offers.

Requirements: what employers actually ask for

Experience

Most postings we checked want 6 months to 1 year of customer service experience. TTEC, Concentrix, and ShyftOff's Associate role ask for 6+ months. HCSC asks for 1+ year. ShyftOff's platform overall looks for 3+ years. Retail, restaurant, front desk, and call center jobs all count, so list them. If you're starting from scratch, NoGigiddy (paid training, no degree) is the most beginner-friendly role here. Our upcoming guide on getting a remote customer service job with no experience walks through it step by step.

Equipment and internet

  • Hardwired internet: TTEC requires a wired connection over 25 Mbps. HCSC requires Ethernet. VXI lists 10 Mbps down and 5 Mbps up.
  • Computer: Many roles provide equipment (VXI, Transcom). Contractor roles usually don't, and Chromebooks and tablets often don't qualify.
  • Headset: Expect a USB noise-canceling headset for any role with calls.
  • Space: A quiet, private room with a door. TTEC and Transcom both spell this out.

We'll cover speed tests, headset specs, and wired vs Wi-Fi in our remote customer service equipment guide.

State restrictions

"Remote" rarely means "anywhere." Employers limit hiring to states where they're registered to pay taxes and benefits. TTEC isn't hiring in AK, CA, HI, IL, or MT. HCSC excludes AK, CA, HI, and NY. Transcom hires in 26 states.

W-2, 1099, or shift marketplace?

How you're hired affects your take-home pay as much as your hourly rate.

Type Examples from our list Taxes Schedule Costs to you
W-2 employee Transcom (stated W-2); HCSC and VXI (list employee benefits) Withheld from your paycheck Set shifts, often with rotating weekends Usually none; equipment often provided
1099 contractor ShyftOff Financial Services (stated 1099) You pay your own, including self-employment tax More flexible Your own gear; possible screening or certification fees
Shift marketplace ShyftOff 1099 You pick open shifts in small blocks Possible disclosed program fees; hours depend on demand

If a posting doesn't say W-2 or 1099, ask before you accept. Benefits like health insurance and a 401(k) usually mean employee status. Our 1099 customer service jobs guide compares contract platforms using each one's published terms. It's not tax advice, so talk to a tax pro about your situation.

How to apply and get hired

Apply on the employer's own site

Woman filling out an online job application on a laptop at a kitchen table with a checklist notebook.

Apply on the employer's own careers site or hiring system whenever you can, using the links in our table. If a listing only exists on an aggregator, be careful.

Expect assessments and video interviews

Big employers often send a short online assessment (typing, listening, or situational questions) and then a recorded or live video interview. ShyftOff's process starts with an online application and a video interview, then certification for a client program, then picking shifts. Treat it like a real call: quiet room, good light, headset on. Our upcoming customer service video interview tips cover setup and sample answers.

Spot fake listings before they spot you

Scammers love this job category. Watch for:

  1. Pay far above the market for no experience. $35–$45/hr for entry-level support is above the BLS top 10% for the whole field.
  2. Interviews over Telegram, WhatsApp, or text. The FTC warns that real employers don't recruit that way.
  3. A check to "buy equipment." That's a fake check scam. Never deposit it and send money back.
  4. A job that isn't on the company's own site. Always cross-check.

About fees: the FTC's rule of thumb is never pay to get a job. With contractor platforms there's one nuance. Some charge specific fees, disclosed in writing up front, for things like background checks. ShyftOff's Financial Services posting lists a $199 screening cost, and ShyftOff says some client certifications carry a fee you pay, disclosed before you enroll. A vague "activation" or "training kit" fee that shows up after an offer is a red flag. More in our guide to legitimate work from home customer service jobs.

Stack this with other shifts

Many agents want a dependable part-time role plus flexible hours they control. That's stacking.

  • Anchor: A part-time role with set hours, like Cyrusher (Mon–Sat, 1–6pm, $18/hr) or Cluely (weekday mornings and/or weekends, $25/hr).
  • Flex layer: A shift-based platform where you add hours when you have them: early mornings, late nights, or days off.
  • Guardrails: Never overlap paid hours. Read each contract for exclusivity rules, keep separate notes for each client, and set aside taxes for any 1099 income.

ShyftOff is built for the flex layer. According to its agents page, you can pick 30-minute shifts around the clock, work across phone, chat, email, and instant message, get paid weekly, and work from anywhere in the U.S. or LATAM. It looks for 3+ years of customer service experience, a modern computer, a USB headset, hardwired internet (25 Mbps+), and a quiet space. Creating an account is free, but some programs carry a fee you pay, like the $199 screening above.

Outside reviews are mixed. Some agents on Indeed and Reddit mention hours being scarce at times and frustrations with training. Treat it as a flexible extra, not a guaranteed paycheck.

Ready to add shifts on your own schedule? Apply to ShyftOff and pick 30-minute shifts. Check any program fees before you enroll.

Our stacking guide shows how to build a full week from part-time and flexible work.

FAQs

Are remote customer support jobs legit?

Yes. Every role in our table is posted on the employer's own careers site, hiring system, or Indeed listing. Never pay for a "job offer." If a contractor platform charges a screening or certification fee, it should be specific and in writing before you commit.

How much do remote customer support jobs pay?

Postings we checked in November 2026 pay $14–$26 an hour, and most fall between $15 and $22. The BLS median for customer service reps is $21.53 an hour (May 2025).

Which companies hire remote customer support agents?

Right now, TTEC, Concentrix, VXI, Transcom, and HCSC/Luminare are hiring for phone and blended roles. Solace, AIA Contract Documents, and Cluely are hiring for tech and health tech support. ShyftOff offers flexible shifts for experienced agents.

Can I get a remote customer support job with no experience?

It's harder, but possible. Most roles want 6–12 months of experience, and retail or food service counts. Look for "paid training" or "no experience required," like NoGigiddy's role.

What equipment do I need?

Usually a hardwired internet connection, a modern computer, a USB headset, and a quiet, private room. Some employers (VXI, Transcom) provide equipment. Contractors usually supply their own.

Are there customer support jobs with no phone calls?

Yes, but they're the minority. In our check, only Cluely (tickets) and NoGigiddy (chat and community) were clearly written-only. See our chat support guide for more.

Can I do remote customer support part-time?

Yes. Cluely and Cyrusher are part-time, and shift platforms like ShyftOff let you choose your hours in 30-minute blocks.

Is "virtual customer service" the same thing?

Mostly, yes. "Virtual" and "remote" are often used the same way on job boards. We're unpacking the difference in an upcoming guide to virtual customer service jobs, and our complete guide to remote customer service jobs is coming later this month.

The bottom line

Remote customer support is a real, reachable way to earn from home. Expect roughly $15–$22 an hour to start, up to about $26 in tech and health tech. Most roles mix phone and writing and ask for some experience, a wired connection, and a home in an eligible state. Start with the verified openings above, confirm each posting, and skip anything that asks you to pay through a text message.

If you've got the experience and want hours you control, you can apply to ShyftOff here.

Openings and pay were checked Nov 2, 2026, and copied from each posting. Jobs close and change often, so confirm details on the employer's page before applying. SidePaychecks works with ShyftOff and re-checks this list monthly.